Amy Herr

Amy Herr

Keynote Speaker

Amy E. Herr received a BS degree in Engineering & Applied Science from the California Institute of Technology and MS and PhD degrees from Stanford University in Mechanical Engineering. She is currently the Lester John & Lynne Dewar Lloyd Distinguished Professor of Bioengineering at the University of California, Berkeley and a Chan Zuckerberg (CZ) Biohub Investigator. Prior to joining UC Berkeley, she was a staff member in the Biosystems Research Group at Sandia National Laboratories (Livermore, CA).  Her research interests include bioinstrumentation innovation needed to advance quantitation in life sciences and clinical problems, in particular the study and application of electrokinetic phenomena in multi-stage, heterogeneous bioanalytical microsystems. In these areas, her work has been recognized with an NIH New Innovator Award, NSF CAREER Award, Alfred P. Sloan Award (Chemistry) among other accolades.  Her pedagogical interests are in bioengineering design and transport.

Professor Herr has served as Chair (2009) and Vice-chair (2007) of the Gordon Research Conference (GRC) on the Physics & Chemistry of Microfluidics, as well as served as a technical program committee member for the International Conference on Miniaturized Systems for Chemistry & Life Sciences (microTAS 2009-2012); Hilton Head: Solid State Sensors, Actuators & Microsystems (2008, 2010); The International Conference on Solid-State Sensors, Actuators, and Microsystems (Transducers 2007, 2009, 2012); IEEE Sensors (2010); and has been a session organizer for the American Institute of Chemical Engineering (AIChE) and LabAutomation.  She has served as a Guest Editor for special issues of the peer-reviewed journals Lab on a Chip (Royal Society of Chemistry) and JMM (Institute of Physics) & has been a member of the advisory panel for the peer-reviewed journal Analytical Chemistry’s News & Features section (formerly A-pages).  Currently, she serves as a Board Member of the Chemical & Biological Microsystems Society (CBMS) and as a standing member of the NIH Nanotechnology Study Section.  She is faculty advisor to the UC Berkeley chapter of the Society of Women Engineers (SWE) and the Graduate Women in Engineering (GWE).

Professor Herr is an elected Fellow of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE), a Board member of the Chemical & Biological Microsystems Society (CMBS) which oversees the microTAS conferences, and is on the Advisory Board for the UCSF Rosenman Institute and the journal Analytical Chemistry. She has been recognized by:  the 2015 Georges Guiochon Faculty Fellow from HPLC, the 2012 Young Innovator Award from Analytical Chemistry/CBMS,  the 2012 Ellen Weaver Award from the Association for Women in Science (AWIS, for mentoring), a 2011 NSF CAREER award, a 2010 NIH New Innovator Award, a 2010 Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship in chemistry, 2a 010 New Investigator Award in Analytical Chemistry from Eli Lilly & Co., a 2009 Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Young Faculty Award, a 2009 Hellman Family Faculty Fund Award from UC Berkeley, a 2008 Regents’ Junior Faculty Fellowship from the University of California.  Professor Herr has also been recognized by the 2012 Outstanding Instructor Award in Bioengineering (Bioengineering Honor Society student vote) and a 2007 Outstanding Mentor Award from Sandia National Labs.